June Considine


Author of children’s fiction for Young Poolbeg incl. the Luvender Trilogy (When the Luvenders Came to Merrick Town, Luvenders at the Old Mill, 1991; and Island of Luvenders); also the Beechwood series; also When The Bough Breaks (2002), concerning the birth and abandonment of Eva Frawley, her adoption, and her search at 27 for her family origins, ending with the discovery of her mother and the man who corrupted her; issued Deception (2004), which was the RTE “Rattlebag” novel of the year in 2004; issued Guilty (2108), a story of early mistakes and later costs to family; contribs. to “Sunday Miscellany” on RTE (radio), and works as non-fiction ghost-writer; gives regular workshops on creative writing; lives in Malahide, Co Dublin; board-member of the Irish Writers’ Centre; forthcoming novel The Wife Before Me.

June Considine New Titles 2018

[ top ]

For children [pret-teens and young adults]: Summer in Fountain Square (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1993), 128pp.; Puppet Strings (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1994), 97pp. The Luvender Series: When the Luvenders Came to Merrick Town(Poolbeg Press 1989), 250pp.; Luvenders at the Old Mill (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1990), 230pp.; and Island of Luvenders (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1991), 212pp. [also listed as Zentyre series]. The Beechwood Series: School Bully [Beechwood 3] (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1993), ix, 99pp.; The Debs Ball [Beechwood 2] (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1993), ii, 103pp.; The Slumber Party (Dublin: Pooleg 1993), 112pp.; Algrave Blues [Beechwood 7] (Dublin: Poolbeg Press 1995), 186pp.

For adults [as Laura Elliot]: View from a Blind Bridge (Poolbeg Press 1992), 196pp.; The Glass Triangle (Poolbeg Press 1994), 205pp.; When The Bough Breaks (Dublin: New Island 2002; pb. 2003), 502pp., rep. in extended version as Sleep Sister (Ickenham: Bookouture 2002); Deception (Dublin: New Island 2004, rep. 2005), 361pp. [also as audio-book, 2006]; reiss. as Fragile Lies (Bookoure 2015); The Prodigal Sister (London: Avon 2009), 423pp. [set in New Zealand], reiss. as The Lost Sister [e-pub] (Ickenham: Bookouture 2009) [see note]; Fragile Lies (Ickenham: Bookouture [2015]; The Betrayal (Ickenham: Bookouture [2015]; Stolen Child (London: Avon 2010, 2015; vi, 205pp. [see note]; Guilty (Ickenham: Bookouture 2017), 394pp.

Audiobooks: Deception [2004] issued as an audiobook, read by Jim Norton (2006).

Ghost-written: with Yvonne Kinsella, Witness to Evil: MY Father’s Murder, My Mother’s Guilt, My Struggle for Justice in a House of Tyranny by Veronica McGrath (Dublin: Hachette Books Ireland 2011), 248pp., pb. See also Missing Pieces: Women in Irish History [Dublin: Irish Feminist Information Publications with Women’s Community Press 1983], 64pp., ill. (b&w) - 1. Since the famine.

[ top ]

Shirley Kelly, ‘I could feel a novel coming on - that was 1998’, interview with June Considine, describes When the Bough Breaks (2002) as a novel about Beth, the daughter of an ineffectual father abused by her politician uncle who goes on to abuse her yngr. sister Sara, who bears a stillborn child with Beth’s help in dramatic circumstances, and the exposure of the malefactor. (Books Ireland, Summer 2002, p.149-50; see also “First Flush”, Books Ireland, May 2003.)

Kathy Cremin, ‘Families and How to Survive Them’, review of When the Bough Breaks, in The Irish Times, Weekend (13 July 2002): recouonts polot in wihch two young girls, Beth and Sara, watched the enraged flare of their parents’ spite; divided loyalties exacerbated by abuse of a political uncle Tom Oliver; Beth runs away; involves Oedipal conflict of seeing and blindness in which the sisters share knowledge of an abandoned baby and their mutual inability to acknowledge or alleviate each other’s violent emotions. Cremin further writes: ‘On the surface, this is an oldfashioned “family saga”, told through the damaged female characters, with the next generation of women strangely compelled to repeat their mother’s past mistakes, a repetition that serves to illustrate the changed nature of guilt and responsibility in Irish society. In replaying Sara’s story, Considine shows a mastery of gothic conventions, but because the central drama is irresolvable, characters like Tom Oliver are more visible as “villains” who lack psychological complexity. The sweep of this novel has appeal, but Considine’s début is also a kind of high-anxiety fiction that offers a utopian resolution of unmendable lives.’ (p.8.)

See June Considine’s Blog - online; accessed 04.07.2018.

[ top ]

The Prodigal Sister (2009): Can a black sheep ever return to the flock? Find out in this emotionally intense tale from a spellbinding Irish talent. Accompany the Lambert sisters on their unforgettable journey - fans of Anita Shreve and Rosie Thomas w[i]ll be spellbound. When 15-year-old Cathy Lambert runs away from her Dublin home, she is scared and pregnant. Settled in New Zealand with her new son Conor she believes the secret she carries will never be revealed... Rebecca Lambert was eighteen when her parents died and she took responsibility for her younger sisters. Years later, she is haunted by fears she hoped she’d conquered. Freed from family duties, mother of three Julie Chambers is determined to recapture the dreams of her youth. Married to a possessive older man, Lauren Moran embarks on a frantic love affair that threatens to destabilise her fragile world. Anxious to make peace with her three sisters, Cathy invites them to her wedding. But as the women journey together through New Zealand towards their reunion, they are forced to confront the past as the secret shared histories of the Lambert sisters are revealed. [Rep. in e-pub as The Lost Sister (London: Avon 2009); See COPAC - online] .

Stolen Child (2010): When Carla Kelly and Robert Gardner marry, they seem destined for happiness. But tragedy strikes when their two-day-old baby, Isobel, is stolen. When Carla Kelly and Robert Gardner marry, they seem destined for happiness. But tragedy strikes when their two-day-old baby, Isobel, is stolen. Distraught and bewildered, they must cope with the media frenzy that follows. As hope of finding her fades, their marriage disintegrates under the strain and they divorce. Robert moves to Australia and Carla, who had been a successful model, becomes reclusive and retreats into anonymity in order to escape the glare of publicity. Meanwhile, many miles away in a small town, Joy Dowling, miracle baby, is the adored only child of Susanne and David. Her mother is over protective and attempts to rear Joy in isolation, but as a wilful and headstrong child, Joy will not be held back and comes into conflict with her mother. Susanne Dowling has her reasons for wanting to keep Joy out of sight but some things can’t stay hidden forever. As the years pass, hopes of finding Isobel fade, but Carla Kelly never gives up her search. Her love for her Stolen Child burns fiercely and soon, secrets long kept will be brought into the light. Stolen Child is a love story about two families who are torn apart by deception and the consequences of a reckless act that shaped their futures. [Reissued as On Your Doorstep, Avoon 2018.]